Hit and Run Laws by State
* = 3 states where it is not a felony to flee the scene of a crash after killing someone
Why must each state sacrifice one of its own before politicians are motivated to make necessary changes in the law?
July 6, 2005 Copyright © 2005, West Frankfort Daily
By Tara Fasol Wednesday, July 6, 2005 9:11 AM CDT Staff Writer
As the Illinois State Police continue to crackdown on drunk driving with
one of the largest efforts in state history, Governor Rod Blagojevich is
getting on board the aggressive campaign by stiffening penalties for those
convicted of DUI (driving under the influence).
06/04/05 Penalties Increased for Deadly Drivers in New York
New York Governor George E. Pataki has signed two bills into law that will help protect New Yorkers against hit and run drivers and drunk drivers. The new laws not only increase penalties for deadly drivers who leave the scene of an accident, but also eliminate the need for prosecutors to prove criminal negligence in order to charge a drunken driver with a felony.
.....The current law did not distinguish between leaving the scene of an incident involving a serious physical injury and an incident involving a fatal injury charging both as a class E felony. The new legislation will elevate the crime of leaving the scene of an incident involving a fatal injury to a class D felony, with a maximum sentence of 2 1/3 to 7 years in prison. This legislation also elevates the crime of leaving the scene of an incident involving personal injury, which under current law is a class B misdemeanor (maximum sentence of up to 90 days in jail), to a class A misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of up to one year in jail, with a second or subsequent violation could be charged as a class E felony.
01/13/04 Informational roadblocks OK'ed
The Supreme Court ruled today that police roadblocks, when setup to ask for or distribute information, are permissible. The decision overturns an Illinois Supreme Court decision that ruled that a 1997 roadblock set up to distribute information about a hit and run had been an unconstitutional violation of the rights of the drivers. In Illinois v Lidster, one driver nearly hit an officer who had been asking about the hit and run. When officers approached the driver, they detected alcohol on his breath and he was taken into custody for drunk driving. Lidster challenged the arrest on the grounds that the roadblock was unconstitutional. The decision was unanimous in part, with three justices joining in an in-part dissent.
|Harsher hit-and-run penalties now law in Wisconsin
Wisconsin Gov. Jim Doyle signed a bill into law Nov. 12 (2003) increasing
penalties for drivers who leave the scene of an accident involving deaths
|12/1/2003 SMITHFIELD, N.C.
The state of North Carolina is trying to have more impact on hit-and-run accidents. Jim Avery and his wife, Jennifer, a victim of a hit-and-run driver, still don't know who struck her. Starting Monday, anyone convicted of leaving the scene of an accident could lose his or her license for two years. Past hit-and-run victims and their families hope the new law makes a difference. A hit-and-run driver, in a split second, changed Jim Avery's world. Avery's wife, Jennifer, was walking along a road with her stepdaughter when a car came along, crossed the center line and struck Jennifer from behind. The stepdaughter was not hurt. But the vehicle sent Jennifer -- who was six months pregnant -- flying off the road. She survived, but lost her baby. Jim Avery said Jennifer never knew what hit her. "When I got there, she was lying right beside the road," he said. "Her shoe was thrown way off. The first thing was just to keep her calm and relaxed until the ambulance got there. That was hard to do." Investigators are still looking for the suspect in that hit-and-run. Anyone with information about the Aug. 14 incident is asked to call the Highway Patrol. WRAL asked Jim Avery if the new, tougher hit-and-run law would be a deterrent. "I think it will probably happen no matter what the law is," he said. It is hard to disagree when other incidents are considered, like the hit-and-run along I-40 that killed University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sports broadcaster Stephen Gates. But, now, it's the law: you can lose your license for two years for a hit-and-run. Jim Avery hopes some drivers' actions change along with the law.
Courtesy - wral.com
2002 Ten deadliest US cities for pedestrians / see December 2004 news for 2003 list
On November 3rd, Governor Pataki signed a law that increases the penalty for leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident where a guide, service or hearing dog has been struck and either injured or killed. Current law requires a driver whose car hits a dog, cat, horse or cattle, to stop, attempt to locate the animals owner or law enforcement in the area, and take other reasonable steps to ensure that the animal receives necessary attention.
Hit-and-run law draws interest
MILLVILLE -- Assemblyman Jeff Van Drew has renewed an effort to move hit-and-run legislation through the Assembly in light of the Jan. 17 death of a Hammonton man.
Robert Wickham, 18, was killed when his car was run over by a tractor-trailer after a head-on collision on Route 54.
Van Drew's legislation would make knowingly leaving the scene of a fatal accident a second-degree crime instead of third-degree. Another proposal would direct the Attorney General to study the feasibility of using public awareness methods to apprehend hit-and-run perpetrators.
1/22/05 The Daily Journal
|If you have news of recent changes affecting hit and run laws in your state, please contact us.|
Fatal Hit and Run Accidents / Victim News